What Are Car Insurance Requirements in Maryland?
The minimum legal Maryland car insurance coverage is as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $30,000 minimum per person / $60,000 minimum per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $15,000 minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $30,000 minimum per person / $60,000 minimum per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $15,000 minimum
- Personal Injury Protection: $2,500 minimum IF the insured elects PIP: the coverage may be waived.
How Much Insurance Should I Carry?
The amount of automobile insurance you should carry depends on the value of your vehicle and persons who may operate the automobile other than yourself. Of course, if there is a lien on the vehicle certain amounts of insurance will be required by the lien holder to secure the collateral.
Are Most People Surprised At The Amount Of Insurance Coverage They Actually Have?
Yes. Until it is time to make a claim, most people may not know what their coverage amount is. Most drivers don’t remember if they have PIP or if it was waived. Most drivers don’t remember if they purchased GAP coverage at the time they purchased the vehicle, which would pay off the balance owed in the event of a total loss. Losing your automobile and still having to pay a note is not a good thing.
What Does Uninsured Or Underinsured Motorist Coverage Actually Cover?
Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage would provide the driver with a way to collect for injuries in the event they are in an automobile accident with an uninsured driver. The same would be true IF the driver is in a serious accident with a person who has minimum limits and that amount is not enough to cover the injury. The driver may then file an underinsured motorist claim. Of course, there will be deductibles when making a claim under one’s own policy. Notwithstanding, there are no deductibles to be paid for making a PIP claim.
I Have Medical Insurance. Why Should I Buy UM Or PIP On My Car Insurance Policy?
Uninsured coverage and PIP are good to have on
Is It Advisable To Sue The Uninsured Or Underinsured Person?
If there are no assets present to pay a Judgment, it is futile and could be a waste of time suing someone who cannot pay a Judgment. Although, if you use your uninsured motorist coverage because a careless/negligent driver caused damage to your person and/or automobile, your insurance carrier may file suit against the driver in a subrogation action. It is also unlawful to register a vehicle and operate that vehicle on the roadway in Maryland without insurance.
What Is PIP Insurance?
PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection. It is a no-fault provision that is optional for Maryland vehicle owners. This means you may request to use your PIP regardless of fault. The minimum amount of PIP is $2,500.00 per passenger. PIP will pay for medical bills and lost wages up to the policy limit.
What Is The Time Limit To Receive PIP Coverage Or Make A PIP Claim?
A PIP claim must be filed within one year from the accident date. You should be able to call your insurance company and ask that PIP
Do You Need To Sign Up For PIP Coverage Or Is It Automatically Applied To Any Insurance Coverage?
PIP must be elected by the driver. PIP may be waived, and as such PIP is waived by many drivers. It is generally affordable and most automobile owners don’t notice the difference in monthly payments because of the low cost of coverage.
For more information on Car Insurance Requirements In Maryland, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (800) 400-2350 today.